Easy DIY Threading Activity

16 Aug

 

 

[EDIT: Since I wrote this about a month ago, Freestyle has pretty much picked apart the white paper that I used to wrap the container! So keep that in mind if you decide to make this. In the link below, I believe she gives an idea of how to better cover the container.]

 

I’ve been meaning to make this for Freestyle for awhile now (months, actually!), but of course my lazy self kept procrastinating until I forgot about it! I think this would be a great activity for younger babies (around 1 year) to start on.

What reminded me was this post from how we montessori, a great blog I just stumbled upon.

 

It’s very simple to make:

All you need is a container with a plastic lid, something to poke holes into the lid, and about 10 stick-like objects (I had a huge box of coffee stir sticks from my own very DIY wedding leftover!).

  • You could also use larger wooden sticks/straws and a parmesan shaker (the ones with larger holes on the lid).
  • Or, you don’t even have to make a container– clean some pennies and use a piggy bank!

 

This is a Threading Activity, so Freestyle will be working on her concentration, hand-eye coordination, and pincer grip. It’s also a great activity that Freestyle can do independently, so a perfect time to bring it out is when I’m making dinner.

 

 

 

And, it’s portable! Just keep the sticks in the container and bring it with you if you know you’ll need to keep them busy.

 

2 Responses to “Easy DIY Threading Activity”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Threading Activity: Pasta Necklace « The Montessori Motherload - December 20, 2012

    […] Threading’s an easy skill to practice in many fun ways! I’ve also written about Threading exercises here and here. […]

  2. Makeshift Montessori: DIY activities for free » mama naturale - February 27, 2013

    […] example, threading activities. I was inspired by this tutorial. I used a (obviously Costco) coffee can, punctured holes in the top with a nail, then shoved a […]

Leave a comment