27 Apr

2009-08-11 at 12-46-13

 

 

I’m contemplating not blogging anymore.

I realize that maybe five people will read this so this isn’t earth-shattering, mind-blowing news or anything, but I guess if I am going to close this, I should give it an ending (or at least a fair warning).

I originally decided to do it so that I would be encouraged to keep writing and also to document what I’m doing with my girls in terms of Montessori at home.

It’s kept me writing, certainly, but I still am not doing the kind of writing that I want to do. Sometimes I just post gems like this just to post something. I don’t like that (and I’m sure no one else did either!).

I did find that it kept me motivated to research, plan, prepare, and teach Montessori lessons and activities to Freestyle, so that’s good. But I can still do that without this blog.

I just don’t seem to be able to find the time. I’m still adjusting to working again (albeit part-time) at home with both Free and RB now. I really try to work when they are being watched by my friend who babysits or my mom or while they are sleeping. When they are awake, I want to spend time with them and give them fun, interesting, and educational experiences. That’s why we decided that one of us should be at home after all.

I find that I can’t get all the work done in time for my deadlines unless I do some of it while they’re awake. During those days I sort of hate myself because I want to be able to 100% focus on the girls but then I am half-ignoring them while I stare at the screen.

At the same time, I love the work that I’m doing now. It’s interesting and challenging and allows me to explore the other side of teaching (writing/editing curriculum). I’m also so grateful that I found a job that I could do at home, that’s part-time, working with an amazing team. So I don’t want to screw it up. Last month was a real eye-opener. I made a few slip-ups and I was mor-ti-fied. They weren’t huge mistakes and easily corrected, but they were mistakes all the same.

So…I guess what I’m getting at is that I am realizing that I need to focus on what is most important and most necessary right now. So that would include my family, friends, work, volunteering and community involvement, teaching/living Montessori at home, writing (starting what will be a super fun side project with a good friend), and the other random projects which I always have on the go!

 

2009-07-04 at 01-47-33

 

 

I’ll call it an extended leave of absence for now. Thanks for reading and for your support. Thank you to E for all your encouragement about writing and giving me the idea to actually start this (looking forward to our project!). Thanks to those who I don’t know in real life who have subscribed or stumbled onto this via Pinterest or someone else’s blog and didn’t click away immediately! :)

 

2009-06-07 at 22-54-12

Is a graceful exit in the cards for me, much like my friend the peacock?

 

Bye for now! :)

 

16 Responses to “”

  1. Kimberly April 27, 2013 at 4:30 am #

    I would be sad to see you stop blogging, but I understand what it’s like to be spread too thin. It’s important for you to make the choice that is right for YOU! If you do decide to take a break, would you mind keeping this blog up and active? I’ve learned a lot referencing your site, and I would love to be able to continue to do so in the future.

    I took a break from blogging because I was too busy, but I found I missed it. So I lowered my expectations for myself, and decided to continue it for ME. Because that’s what it was originally intended to be for. Since then, I’ve been on and off with posting, but I’m still happy to be periodically sharing things, especially since I want to share some of the stories with my kids someday.

    Good luck to you! I hope to see you back in the not too distant future, even if it’s just to briefly update. :)

    • Montessori Motherload April 28, 2013 at 6:13 pm #

      Kimberly, your comment made my day! Thank you. I like your suggestion about continuing it just for you. (Not that I should be complaining about being too busy. I took a peek at your blog and wow, what you’re doing is amazing with your children and all the rescue animals!). I have a new blog to read! And I think I will keep blogging when I feel up to it again! Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Montessori Motherload August 28, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

      Hi Kimberly,

      Thank you for the thoughtful comment. Sorry for the very delayed reply; I really haven’t looked at this blog since I stopped. I am very happy with my decision to stop as it did allow me to focus on my other work/writing and…oh yeah, my kids! Haha. I don’t think I’m organized enough to be present with them AND do this extra blog (I know for some it’s really a great creative outlet or creates income and that’s fantastic.).

      I think it’s great that you altered your expectations for your own blog. I hope it’s working out well…I’m sure it is as you seem to be a balanced person!

      Good luck to you too and yes, I’ll probably do an update soon.

      Thanks again!

  2. racheous April 28, 2013 at 2:00 am #

    I love your blog and will miss your posts

    • Montessori Motherload April 28, 2013 at 6:10 pm #

      Thank you, Rachel! :) I might start up again in the future once I get a handle on my life! All the best.

  3. Doodling Through Life June 13, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

    Will miss your great ideas but totally understand! Haven’t been blogging as much either- just too tired!

    • Montessori Motherload August 28, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

      Thank you! I hope you’re finding time to blog if that is what you want! I’m happy with my decision to scale down. I’ll check in on your blog to see how you’re doing!

      • Doodling Through Life August 29, 2013 at 1:23 am #

        good to know you’re doing well! I feel like I’m scaling down too! Posting more photos than words it seems like! hope your 2 are doing well :)

  4. Nithya July 9, 2013 at 12:09 pm #

    I look forward to your posts and will certainly miss them. All the best!

    • Montessori Motherload August 28, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

      Thanks for the sweet comment, Nithya. I’m sorry I’m replying so late! Thanks again!

  5. Susan September 12, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

    I just found your blog and going through the posts has been really helpful for me! I’m getting ready to be a homeschooling family. Thanks for the great ideas!

    • Montessori Motherload December 7, 2013 at 6:02 am #

      Thank you for that lovely comment. That’s amazing that you decided to homeschool! I’m sure you’ve done your research but just in case, there are some great links on the “About Montessori” page. All the best to you and your family!

  6. Montessori Education October 8, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

    Your blog is missed. I always liked your lessons and learned some dos and don’ts for new things to put in my classroom. I hope you start blogging again soon! Thanks for encouraging more people to use a montessori education approach.

    • Montessori Motherload December 7, 2013 at 6:01 am #

      Sorry for the late reply! Thanks for the kind words. They really mean a lot! I’m still doing Montessori at home with my girls but am finding life is so busy (as it is for everyone!). Maybe when things settle? All the best!

  7. tuesdayswithbea February 20, 2014 at 7:08 pm #

    I just found this today, and while you may not be writing here anymore, you are still helping other parents with what you have already shared. Merci.

    • Montessori Motherload February 26, 2014 at 5:26 am #

      Hello tuesdayswithbea! I’m not sure how helpful this truly is, but thanks for the lovely comment! So timely too as I was just thinking whether or not I should just close the blog down as I don’t really post anymore! You’re comment convinced me to leave it as is for now. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

