My Sunshine!

15 Jan

Poster from Simply Montessori 

Just reporting a little Montessori Mommy Moment that I had recently. I was singing (as usual!) “You Are My Sunshine” to Freestyle. I had her in my lap and was looking into her beautiful face and I actually got a bit choked up and started to tear up a little.

Now, I’m not a robot nor am I overly emotional, but the emotion came on so suddenly that it really caught me by surprise. I love her so much!

It reminds me of the time when I was driving to work, about 4 months pregnant, just thinking of the baby and wondering if it was a boy or a girl. All of a sudden, the thought that popped into my head was that it was a boy and that one day he would grow up and get married and move away and leave me for another woman that he loved maybe even more (gasp!) than me, his mother, who carried him for ten months and loved him and raised him and how could he do that to his mother?!

See? Not overly emotional at all.

After having Freestyle, my sympathy and understanding for/of my parents has increased exponentially in proportion to every day that passes.

Especially looking back on years 16 – 23. Yikes.

One Response to “My Sunshine!”

  1. Turtle January 15, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    Hey MM, that was a really sweet post! It makes me wonder whether I should rethink my decision to not have kids, especially because of those dreadful teen years 🙂
    I’m really looking forward to hearing about your montessori activities. I don’t know much about montessori principles but it sounds like a really well-grounded and positive way to raise your child.
    Please give Freestyle a kiss for me!

Leave a Reply

