Deadline…what an omnious sounding word.

22 Mar

“I love deadlines. I love the whooshing noise they make as they go by.”

– Douglas Adams

 

I have not quite grasped the ability to work from home (without losing my mind) just yet. How do people do it?

Have a couple of half-written blog posts waiting to be completed, but honestly, I’m sick of sitting in this office chair, staring open-mouthed at the computer. I am definitely not cut out for office work! At least in the classroom things changed up all the time and you were always moving! While I’m up at night, after putting Freestyle to bed, I want to be hanging out with Biker, or getting the house back into it’s haphazardly tidy state, or really, just lying in bed reading a book.

Sigh. But I shouldn’t complain. I’m so, so GRATEFUL for this opportunity, a literal God-send. I do enjoy what I’m doing; I think I just need to get past this learning curve and settle more into a manageable working-at-home routine. I’m sure things will slowly get easier, as they always do.

Hope you (my imaginary friend who reads this) are well!

I’m just going to do one load of laundry, shower, and go tuck myself in and read until my eyes give out!

Good night (or “Nigh!” as Freestyle would say!)!

4 Responses to “Deadline…what an omnious sounding word.”

  1. Carmela March 22, 2012 at 2:35 am #

    I have done my best work at home (vs. the client site or my suite). When working at home, I keep similar hours as I do working in the office. This will help you form your routine.

    Good Luck and Enjoy your work.

    • Montessori Motherload March 22, 2012 at 2:40 am #

      Wow, my first comment from someone I haven’t bullied into reading this sorry excuse for a blog! Thanks for the advice, Carmela! You’re right, I think I should institute some stricter “office hours.” Cheers!

  2. sun March 28, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    I actually prefer working from home too, so I’m envious of you! In the office there are so many more distractions. But certainly, if I’m not motivated enough or if I don’t have good working environment at home, I’ll have a hard time too. Maybe you could try adjusting your space to make it more enjoyable to be around?

    • Montessori Motherload March 29, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

      I’m happy that I’m working at home, so I really shouldn’t complain! Thanks for the suggestion- I actually had to do this because I kept leaving all my papers and things all over the desk and it was so cluttered. I just made a bit of room on my bookshelf for work stuff so I know it’s somewhere safe and neat!

Leave a Reply

