Simple Summer Fun Pt. 2: Walk the Line, baby!

26 Jul

Here’s a very easy and fun gross motor activity that’s perfect for summer: walking along a line! Got the idea from Living Montessori Now.

In Montessori Casa classes, you will usually find an ellipse made of tape on the floor created for children to walk along. Here’s a good explanation at infomontessori.com.

 

Too bad they don’t make driveway rulers. Was a bit hard to draw a straight line over the protruding belly! I made a “beam” because Freestyle didn’t seem to be able to walk with one foot in front of the other so I thought this might be easier for her. 

 

I also drew some “hopping circles” on the driveway because Freestyle loves to jump! I showed her how to hop from one circle to another.

 

About 6″ apart worked best for Freestyle.

 

5 Responses to “Simple Summer Fun Pt. 2: Walk the Line, baby!”

  1. Deb @ Living Montessori Now July 31, 2012 at 2:55 am #

    Thanks for linking to my post! LOVE the photos … so sweet! I pinned your post to my Summer Fun Pinterest Board at http://pinterest.com/debchitwood/summer-fun/

    • Montessori Motherload July 31, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

      Thanks, Deb! I hope I notified you before about linking you up, if not, I apologize! 🙂 Thanks again!

  2. oneinchworld August 6, 2012 at 6:10 am #

    This is so simple and fun. Sometimes we will draw two kinds of shapes or colors, and then play ‘run to a triangle!’ practicing classification with gross motor rather than fine.

    • Montessori Motherload August 6, 2012 at 11:27 am #

      That’s a GREAT idea! Also simple and fun! 🙂 I think I’ll try it with differently coloured circles first (run to the blue circle!) since that’s what we’re working on now and then build up to shapes. Thanks for commenting!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Learning by Moving: Shapes « The Montessori Motherload - December 13, 2012

    […] a large circle and square, using a rake to help me make the looking shapes. It makes for a decent driveway ruler […]

Leave a Reply

