An Update

21 Jan

I’ve run out of the prewritten posts which I wrote (or at least started) before Real Baby arrived. So now I have to write as I go, I suppose! I’m going to aim for one post a week again, but I am trying to figure out a new work routine with the two lovely little ladies here (I started last month! Has it been crazy trying to work at home with a toddler and a 3-month old and no babysitter? I’d say YES.). I also have a couple projects on the go and started running again. All lots of fun but I do need to find a balance…wish me luck!

Well, at least I’ve gotten one of my 2013 Montessori goals accomplished: I’ve decided that instead of buying a Casa album, I am going to use Elizabeth Hainstock’s Teaching Montessori in the Home: The Preschool Years as a base for what I will do with Freestyle later this year. I had flipped through it at the library when Free was a few months old, and recently a friend lent it to me, so I now I have a copy!

 

564256

Photo Credit

 

I like that it seems very straight-forward and simple. It was written specifically for parents to use in the home, so that is perfect for us. She also includes templates and instructions to make some of the materials. I’ll still be constantly reading and looking into different lessons and educational experiences, of course, but this will give me somewhere to start. (My training is for Grades 1 – 6, though we did do a crash course in Casa.) All very exciting!

 

In other MM news, here are a few things that kept us busy over the past few weeks:

IMG_2547

Okay, I know this looks a little pathetic, but it was a spur of the moment craft that didn’t quite work out. The eyeballs were too big and fell off, but Freestyle was okay with that and enjoyed asking, “Where eyeball go? Oh! Der eyeball! Hi, eyeball, where you go?”

IMG_2544

…Voila! We made this during the week we took turns being sick. All we used was a large, sturdy cardboard box, paint, and a LOT of packing tape. Like an entire roll of packing tape. 

 

4 Responses to “An Update”

  1. sun January 23, 2013 at 12:42 am #

    Whoa, look at that artist go!
    Congrats MM on doing all that and starting your running again 🙂 you’re really on top of everything!

    • Montessori Motherload January 24, 2013 at 1:19 am #

      Thanks! I really enjoy running, though I haven’t gone since last week due to the crazy cold weather!

      On top of everything?! Most days I keep asking myself, “What have I gotten myself into?!” 🙂 But I have to admit, I do like having a lot of little projects here and there…just have to make sure I can do the best I can though!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Learning to Glue (Mess-free!) « The Montessori Motherload - January 24, 2013

    […] has recently been very interested in learning to use scissors and glue after using them at the drop-in school program that we attend. Since they were set out and ready to go, I didn’t do a sit-down formal lesson […]

  2. Learning Letters: The Sound Game | The Montessori Motherload - March 27, 2013

    […] I decided to introduce the Sound Game to her (note: this wasn’t in Teaching Montessori in the Home: The Preschool Years. I found this exercise on infomontessori.com.). The Sound Games are a precursor to the Sandpaper […]

Leave a Reply

